Yolo? No, Dedication!

You only live once. I don’t like using the phrase “yolo” unless I’m kidding around, but now that I realize the road I chose will consume the next 15 years of my life, I’m really seeing the value of seizing every opportunity. Every day has it’s opportunities, and every day we lose most of them.

I am going to be a doctor. If God is willing, I will make it. The road to being a doctor is hard. My parents warned me; my family warned me, but I thought they were only trying to scare me into dedicating myself. Then my friend told me how hard it will be. To my surprise, I’m surprised. Everything I was told wasn’t an exaggeration. This is my life, and I can no longer be fooling around. Nights that I would spend with friends smoking cigars, playing Catan, watching movies, eating fast food, hanging out, and playing ninja will now be filled with studying.

I am not exaggerating. If you want a career with a PHD, then your life has to be about that PhD (second to God), or else you won’t make it. Why do you think the average person isn’t working their dream job? If you want it, you might have to take it from the person with the same dream. Only a few can be recognized.

Think about this. There is someone out there who isn’t going to sleep tonight, because they are memorizing everything they are going to need to know for the rest of their lives. They are putting more heart into what they’re doing than anyone else they know. They do it because they Love it. They couldn’t see themselves doing anything else. Does that sound like you? If not, why not?

I asked myself about a year and a half ago, “Who am I? What am I doing?”
After many tears and struggles, I am finally able to answer those questions.
I am Loved by God. I am on a road paved by Him. He fulfills the desires of my heart.
And now I quote to myself, in a serious and conscious tone, “Yolo…”
Doctors don’t say yolo; forget yolo! I’m getting dedicated!

Leave a Reply

